Dilli chhe

I’ve been in Delhi (well, technically, Gurgaon) for almost 5 days now. And I’m typing this on a lazy Sunday evening while watching Delhi-6 on TV.

Delhi.. A city I had heard a lot about. The food, the chicas, the monuments, and of course the people!.. Was looking forward to visiting it for quite some time now. And well, very honestly, it hasn’t been a disappointment. It has lived up every bit to the opinion of a lousy, nosey city that I’d heard it to be from soo many people.

Not that anything has happened in particular that makes me say this. But the city is just so whatever. Being a Bombaywala, I cant understand Delhi. The show-off, the loudness, and other blah stuff. No taking away the fact that it has fabulous roads. Like FABULOUS. But that’s about the only good thing about the place. And there’s definitely no ‘ishq, mohabbat, pyar’ or any such emotion that you feel when here.

Anyway, we’re put up in Gurgaon, and have to travel to Ghaziabad everyday, which is 3 hrs on road one way, so we spend 1/4th of our day everyday just traveling. And god save you if you encounter a jam on the way! On our way, we cross the Qutub Minar, and Akshardham temple everyday. But then the novelty is only for the first time you see it. Apart from that, you normally while away time listening to music, pulling each others legs, and sleeping!

Sadly, I didn’t have the time to explore Delhi, so no Dilli chaat, and no chicas! 😦 I also really wanted to see so many places. Among others, Red fort, Rashtrapati Bhavan, Chandni Chowk, Pahadganj, and Jantar Mantar – I have very vague memories of this one. The only other time I’ve been in Delhi was when I was 4 yrs old, and I remember then our hotel used to overlook the Jantar Mantar, where I have this really funky photo of mom and me. She is wearing a cap, and those typical retro sunglasses, and I’m holding her hand like she’d run away if I wasn’t.

The only thing I got to see here in Gurgaon were malls. Malls, malls, malls and more malls. Like in a stretch not longer than Juhu beach, they have 15 malls. All of them sustaining. How, remains a mystery. Coz they always seemed empty!

Anyway, am moving to Banaras in the next coupla days. A week there, and then Chandigarh, and then will be back in Delhi. Maybe I’ll get to explore it better then. Looking forward to Banaras. Will keep you posted about it. 26th July also happens there 😀 Woo the hoo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

